Chapter 61: A Prize bottle of Wine

Margaux_bottlesMy office colleague at UPITN, Norman Dickson, was a member of a wine society.   He had a neighbour in Sutton, where he lived, who was also a member.  The society was having its annual raffle for a bottle of rare red wine.  A bottle was worth a few hundred pounds.

Norman said “I am going to win the bottle and my wife (Maimie) and I are organising a dinner with my neighbour and his wife when we intend to open the bottle”.   “Of course, we shall have a few bottles of red on standby, after all, there are only six glasses in the bottle

I said “Do you really mean to open it and drink it ?”, “Of course, this opportunity doesn’t come round very often”.

I said ”You haven’t won it yet”.  Norman replied “Oh, ye of little faith”.

If I were you”, I said, “I would sell it to the highest bidder and with the money, I would buy several cases of fine Scotch”.  He said “This is a chance of a lifetime”.

Needless to say, Norman won the prize bottle and had his dinner party.

The next day, he came into the office and I asked him how the bottle of wine went down.

It went down the toilet” he said, “It was like p***”.

I said “What a waste of all that Scotch”.

Next chapter: Chapter 62: Picnic Lunch

© Terence Gallacher 2015.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Terence Gallacher and terryseatingplaces.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
Leave a Reply

