Chapter 8: My first school lunch

Fish_'n'_ChipsI started school in September 1933.  At lunch time, I would walk home with one of my elder brothers to have a bowl of soup with crusty fresh bread and then walk back to school.

When I was a little older, my mother would give me 3 pence (old pence that is) with which I could buy fish and chips.  The fish was two pence and the chips were a halfpenny.  This was obtained from the Fish and Chip shop in the Tottenham High Road, opposite Paxton Road.  What a feast. It’s a fast food shop now selling exotic delicacies.

English: Sweetshop window display, Back to Bac...

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I had a halfpenny left. With that I could go to Mrs. Dooley’s in Brereton Road on the south side, now demolished.  It was an ordinary terraced house, with bay windows, but, in the basement, she ran a small sweet shop.  It was in a row of houses that were next to our school, St. Francis de Sales.

There I could buy five toffees or a blackjack.  The blackjack was a real jaw-breaker but it had the advantage that  it was extremely difficult to share with anyone else.  Let them bring their own halfpenny !

4605925528
On rare occasions we would take supper.  This would consist of raw Spanish onion and a chunk of cheddar.  How we got to sleep after that, I don’t know. However, it was very tasty and I am sure it did us good.

Next chapter: Chapter 9: Easter time

© Terence Gallacher 2014.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Terence Gallacher and terryseatingplaces.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
2 thoughts on “Chapter 8: My first school lunch

  1. another intriguing episode, I would have used that chip shop when I made the same journey home many years later, about 1.5 miles, round trip which when I read it thought not, bad for a 5 year old. Then I realised that I did it too, mo wonder we grew up strong, fish an chips and exercise.. Great article

Leave a Reply

